Copyright on the Internet

Next week, I have my French exam. So this weekend, I decided to start preparing the exam. I need to read some pages in a French book: ‘Journalisme en ligne’. And isn’t that convenient? Because if you understand French, you know that I’m reading a book about digital journalism.

More specifically, I need to read the part about copyright. As we all know, citizen journalism has expanded since the arrival of the internet. That’s good because now people can give their opinion. But the down side is, that most professional journalists have a hard time protecting their written content. Some people believe that everything’s possible on the Internet, and that the copyright rules don’t apply on Internet content. Well, think again, because it does.

At school, we had a course last year, named Legislation and ethics. In the course, we learned about copyright and about who can be held responsable for plagiarism. But, in the course, we never spoke about copyright on the Internet

I think it’s important that everybody who writes on Internet makes sure to never copy something without permission. first, it’s unethical, but it’s also a criminal offense. Although, the copyright rules on the Internet are much less strict, I think it’s important to know that you can’t copy content from another person.

While I was reading the part about copyright, I started to think about my own writings on this blog. I tried to remember if I had used content from another journalist or writer. The truth is, I don’t know. When I write the articles for this blog, I mostly write about my own opinion. But that opinion is based on things I read. So, then I was confused. And now, I don’t know if I have broke copywright rules or not. I’m guessing I didn’t, but I’m not sure.

I’ve become aware of the fact that most people think the Internet has no rules, but I think it’s important that people know that rules are everywhere, also on the Internet. You can copy content from another writer, and you can post it on the internet and you may not get punished, but it’s just unethical. Keep that in mind!

Leave a Reply

